Portrait of Stephen “Don Esteban” Minor Officially Unveiled at the Museum of the American Revolution

Thursday, Oct. 6, 2022, marked the official unveiling of a portrait of Stephen “Don Esteban” Minor, who fought with the Spanish Army under the command of Bernardo de Gálvez during the Revolutionary War. The painting was donated to the Museum by Iberdrola.

Dr. R. Scott Stephenson, President & CEO of the Museum of the American Revolution; Rafael Orbegozo, adviser to the Chairman’s Office at Iberdrola, and Ricardo Añino, Political Counselor for the Embassy of Spain in the United States, were present for the unveiling. After a meeting and brief remarks from the attendees, the event was followed by a viewing of the Stephen Minor portrait at his location in the museum’s galleries.

“Iberdrola – along with our subsidiary, AVANGRID – is deeply committed to elevating the memories of the important contributions made by Spain and the Hispanic world to the origin of the United States,” said Rafael Orbegozo, Adviser to the Chairman’s Office, Iberdrola. “We are grateful to the Museum of the American Revolution for helping to uncover and share this history, and we are excited to partner in unveiling the portrait and story of Stephen Minor.”

“Iberdrola group companies engage in the preservation of cultural and artistic heritage while improving the lives of people in the communities we serve” said Pedro Azagra, CEO of AVANGRID. “Our company is a leader in service, innovation and investment in the U.S. energy industry, delivering projects to support America’s clean energy transition.”

The portrait, attributed to William Edward West circa 1809, is a gift to the Museum from Iberdrola and is now part of the Museum's collection. It is accompanied by a new interpretive panel highlighting Spain’s important role as an ally to the Revolutionary cause.

More information: https://www.amrevmuseum.org/press-releases/newly-acquired-portrait-of-stephen-don-esteban-minor-officially-unveiled-during-hispanic-heritage-month

La Habana George Washington Arthur Lee Fernando de Leyba Marblehead John Jay Bilbao Oliver Pollock El Conde de Aranda José Solano y Bote El Conde de Floridablanca México Francisco de Miranda Nueva Orleans José Antonio George Farragut Pensacola Bernardo de Gálvez Mobile Juan Miralles San Luis Bárbara de Arias Macharaviaya Diego Gardoqui Nueva York